Nos projets

NIGERIA

Protecting young girls from trafficking for sexual exploitation

LOCATION

Nigeria, the state of Edo.

 

The actions will be implemented in Benin City, capital of Edo State, and in the 5 Local Government Areas (LGA) of the Central Edo District and 4 LGAs of the Edo North District (Owan West, Owan East, Etsako West, Etsako Central)

 

PROJECT PERIOD

January 1, 2020 – June 30, 2022

 

CONTEXT

Nigeria is an important source, transit and destination country for human trafficking.

According to the latest Global Slavery Index Report (2018), Nigeria ranks 32/167 of the countries with the highest number of slaves – 1,386,000 – and according to its National Agency for the Prohibition of Human Trafficking (NAPTIP), the average age of trafficked children in Nigeria is 15 years (Tier 2 Watch list – U.S. State Department’s Trafficking In Persons Report -2018). NAPTIP argues that 75% of trafficking victims in Nigeria are trafficked across the country’s states, while 23% are victims between states. According to NAPTIP (2016), only 2% of trafficking victims are out of the country, yet there are large numbers of Nigerian women and children trafficked, particularly in Europe. Nigeria is consistently among the countries with the highest number of victims of trafficking abroad (particularly in Europe), with victims identified in more than 40 countries in 2017. Trafficking is the third most common crime in Nigeria after drug trafficking and economic fraud (UNESCO, 2006). General factors that increase vulnerability to trafficking in Nigeria include extreme poverty (now global poverty capital), corruption, conflict, climate change/migration resulting and Western consumerism.

OBJECTIVES

  • Promoting children’s participation in defending their right to be protected from human trafficking
  • Strengthen trafficking prevention measures at the level of families, communities, child protection systems and local Edo authorities
  • Improving the socio-economic reintegration of repatriated girls to reduce the risk of re-victimization

 

PROJECT ACTIVITIES

Mobilize and strengthen the capacity of these communities, especially young people, to get involved in the fight against human trafficking through information campaigns, the prevention of departures and the reintegration of returnees.

 

BENEFICIAIRIES

  • Young girls at high risk of trafficking (100)
  • Returnees (50) and their families (150)
  • Engaged peer children (1470)
  • Vulnerable children and youth (255,000)
  • Community leaders, teachers, the media, police forces, religious (1700)
  • Child protection and education actors (60)

 

PARTNERS

  • Girl’s Power Initiative (GPI)
  • Uromi Justice Development, Peace and Caritas Initiatives (JDPCI-Caritas)
  • Ifra
  • Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
  • French Development Agency

 

 

 

Discover our other closed projects in West Africa :

ECPAT – West Africa ; ECPAT – Niger ; ECPAT – Senegal ; ECPAT – Mali

Nos projets

NIGERIA

Protéger les jeunes filles de la traite à des fins d’exploitation sexuelle

 

Téléchargez la fiche détaillée du projet ici.

LOCALISATION

Nigeria, l’Etat d’Edo.

Les actions seront mises en œuvre à Benin City, capitale de l’Etat d’Edo, et dans les 5 zones de gouvernement local (LGA) du District d’Edo Central et 4 LGA du District d’Edo North (Owan West, Owan East, Etsako West, Etsako Central)

BUDGET

519 118 €

DUREE

1 janvier 2020 – 30 juin 2022

 

CONTEXTE

Le Nigéria est un pays source important, de transit et de destination en matière de traite des êtres humains. Selon le dernier  rapport sur l’indice mondial de l’esclavage  (2018), le Nigéria se classe 32/167 des pays comptant le plus grand nombre d’esclaves – 1 386 000 – et selon son Agence nationale pour l’interdiction de la traite des êtres humains (la NAPTIP), l’âge moyen des enfants victimes de la traite au Nigeria est de 15 ans (Tier 2 Watch list – U.S. State Department’s Trafficking In Persons Report -2018). La NAPTIP soutient que 75% des victimes de la traite au Nigeria sont victimes de traite à travers les Etats du pays, alors que 23% sont victimes entre les états. Selon la NAPTIP (2016), seulement 2% des victimes de la traite le sont à l’extérieur du pays et pourtant on trouve un grand nombre de femmes et d’enfants nigérians victimes de traite notamment en Europe. Le Nigéria figure régulièrement parmi les pays comptant le plus grand nombre de victimes de la traite à l’étranger (en particulier en Europe), avec des victimes identifiées dans plus de 40 pays en 2017. La traite est le troisième crime le plus répandu au Nigéria après le trafic de drogue et la fraude économique (UNESCO, 2006). Les facteurs généraux qui augmentent la vulnérabilité à la traite au Nigéria incluent la pauvreté extrême (maintenant le capital pauvreté mondial ), la corruption, les conflits, le changement climatique / la migration qui en résulte et le consumérisme occidental.

OBJECTIFS

  • Promouvoir la participation des enfants dans la défense de leur droit à être protégés de la traite des êtres humains
  • Renforcer les mesures de prévention de la traite aux niveaux des familles, des communautés, des systèmes de protection de l’enfance et des autorités locales
  • Améliorer la réinsertion socio-économique des jeunes filles rapatriées afin de réduire les risques de re-victimisation

 

ACTIVITES DU PROJET

Mobiliser et renforcer les capacités de ces communautés, et particulièrement des jeunes, à s’impliquer dans la lutte contre la traite des êtres humains via des campagnes d’information, la prévention des départs et la réinsertion des jeunes filles rapatriées.

BENEFICIAIRES 

  • Les jeunes filles fortement exposées au risque de traite (100)
  • Les jeunes filles rapatriées (50) et leurs familles (150)
  • Les enfants pairs engagés (1470)
  • Les enfants et jeunes vulnérables (255 000)
  • Les leaders communautaires, les enseignants, les médias, les forces de police, les religieux (1700)
  • Les acteurs de la protection de l’enfance et du secteur éducatif (60)

 

PARTENAIRES

  • Girl’s Power Initiative (GPI)
  • Uromi Justice Development, Peace and Caritas Initiatives (JDPCI-Caritas)
  • IFRA
  • Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes de Luxembourg
  • Agence Française de Développement

 

Découvrez nos autres projets dans le reste du monde :

Voir en plein écran