Nos projets

Mali:

Breaking the silence around underage girls exposed and/or victims of commercial sexual exploitation in Mali (Bamako, and the regions of Segou, Sikasso, Mopti)

 

Fanta (the first name has been changed), 14, from Bamako is one of these exploited young girls:

 

I was a street vendor for my mother at the S… market in Bamako. I had to leave school after my father’s death because my mother could no longer pay for my studies. To help my mother with the expenses of the house, I used to hang merchandise at the Great Mosque of Bamako where I sometimes stayed late at night. It was other girls who were involved in prostitution, who encouraged me to prostitute myself at night, first at the big market in Bamako and then in a bar and since then I have always prostituted myself in the bar. I help my mother with the daily expenses. I would like to have a dyeing training to leave this job.

Location

Bamako, Segou, Sikasso and Mopti. These cities are selected because they meet one or more of these criteria: economic and tourist attractiveness, border proximity, gold sites with a prevalence of children exposed and/or victims of commercial sexual exploitation.

 

 

 

 

Duration

January 2017-December 2019

 

Context

The Malian population is characterized by its extreme youth: the under-18s represent more than half (53.0%) of the 15.84 million inhabitants. The under-15s alone represent 46.6% of the population[1].

 

Unfortunately, Mali is not spared from the sexual exploitation of its children, and many of them are among the millions exploited around the world every year. A quantitative and qualitative study that we carried out in March 2013 shows that 28.3% or 417 children out of 1472 children in the sample were victims of prostitution and trafficking for sexual purposes. More than 90% of these victims are girls. Girls between the ages of 12 and 15 are very often sexually abused in exchange for protection, material goods or simply money: a 1,000 CFA note or 1.45€ is the price of sexual abuse.

 

Children who are victims of sexual exploitation are children who, for the most part, have suffered physical and psychological abuse, including sexual abuse in the family, children from broken, reconstituted or completely separated from the family. Others come from families living in precarious economic situations. For many, it is children who find themselves on the street for different reasons, while others are forced to do so to provide for the family’s basic needs.

 

The consequences of the commercial sexual exploitation of children are multiple. An abused child is a child raped in the flesh and soul, and sexual exploitation significantly disrupts the psychological, physical and social development of the child victim. A multidisciplinary approach to the care (psychological, health and social) of these child victims is therefore essential to enable the child victim to build himself, rebuild his bearings and regain confidence in himself, society, life and above all his own life.

 

Project Objective

Strengthen the protection (prevention, psychosocial care, reintegration   and rehabilitation) of underage girls at risk and/or victims of sexual exploitation

 

Expected Results

  • The capacities of social workers in the partner structures of the project are strengthened in the field of sexual exploitation (SE).
  • Children are sensitized and/or strengthened in their life skills to self-protection in SE.
  • Communities in Mali are sensitized to the phenomenon of SE in Mali.
  • The social and political environment is conducive to the protection of children from SE.
  • Children actively participate in actions to combat SE.
  • Underage girls who are victims of SE receive psychosocial care on the streets and in reception centres.
  • Minor girls exposed to or victims of SE benefit from support measures for rehabilitation and socio-professional reintegration.

 

Target Groups

  • Adolescent girls and young women in street situations at risk of sexual exploitation and/or victims of sexual exploitation
  • Girls victims of sexual exploitation hosted at the Caritas Centre in Bamako and the Catholic National Office for Children
  • Children and parents of the Community Listening Centres
  • Peer child educators
  • Children’s Parliament
  • Children of the Association for the Promotion of Young People and Children Communicators
  • Social workers from the project partner structures
  • Judicial Police
  • Traditional communicators and community leaders
  • Media professionals

  

Beneficiaries

 

  • 497 child protection social workers from partner structures trained to strengthen their capacity to care for child victims of sexual exploitation.
  • 2632 girls sensitized and/or strengthened in their life skills to self-protection in SE.
  • 6664 people are aware of the SE phenomenon in Mali.
  • 2100 children actively participate in actions to combat SE.
  • 238 underage girls who are victims of SE receive psychosocial care on the streets and in reception centres.
  • 238 girls who are minors at risk or victims of SE benefit from support measures for rehabilitation and socio-professional reintegration.
  • 106 minor girls who are victims of SE receive psychotherapeutic and legal care.
  • 30 media professionals are trained on their role and responsibility in the fight against SE in Bamako.

  

Budget 

655,000 EUROS

 

Project Implementation Partners

Samu Social Mali: Samu social Mali aims to combat the social exclusion of street children and young people, boys and girls from 0 to 18 years of age, and sometimes beyond this “legal” age, especially for young girls/young mothers living and sleeping on the streets of Bamako. The team provides medical, psychosocial and educational assistance to these children and young people in their place of residence, thanks to an emergency night intervention, supplemented by daytime follow-up, through both medical and psychosocial care, in particular support, referrals to a network of specialised partner structures.

http://www.samusocialmali.org/

 

BNCE Mali (Catholic National Bureau for Children): Organization committed to the promotion and protection of the dignity and rights of the child in Mali, which is also a member and partner of the BICE network (International Catholic Bureau for Children). The BNCE will take in girls identified as at risk and/or victims of sexual exploitation in their centres in Ségou, Sikasso and Mopti.

https://fr-fr.facebook.com/www.bncemali.ml/

 

CARITAS Mali: AET (Action Enfants de Tous) Bamako: Caritas Mali has launched an initiative called Action Enfant de Tous (AET) which coordinates the social and development actions of the diocese of Bamako. The girls’ home in Bamako will accommodate girls identified as at risk and/or victims of sexual exploitation in the Bamako district.

Accueil

 

AV.ES: Avenir Enfance du Sahel: As a partner of ECPAT Luxembourg since June 2007, AV.ES is a national NGO working to protect and promote the rights of the child at the national level. It will act upstream mainly in the Mopti and Douanza region (region providing very young migrant girls from 9 years of age!) with community leaders, communities and families.

 

 

Institutional Partner

 

Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes de Luxembourg

 

 

[1] INSTAT : 4ème Recensement Général de la Population et de l’Habitat – Résultats définitifs, novembre 2011.

Nos projets

Mali :

Rompre le silence autour des filles mineures exposées et/ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle à des fins commerciales au Mali (Bamako, et régions de Ségou, Sikasso, Mopti)

 

Fanta (le prénom a été changé), 14 ans, de Bamako est l’une de ces jeunes filles exploitées :

J’étais vendeuse ambulante pour le compte de ma mère au marché de S… à Bamako. J’ai dû quitter l’école après la mort de mon père car ma maman ne pouvait plus payer mes études. Pour aider ma mère dans les dépenses de la maison, je partais pendre de la marchandise au niveau de la grande mosquée de Bamako où je restais parfois tard la nuit. Ce sont d’autres filles qui faisaient la prostitution, qui m’ont encouragée à me prostituer la nuit d’abord au niveau du grand marché de Bamako et ensuite dans un bar et depuis je me prostitue toujours dans le bar. J’aide ma mère dans les dépenses quotidiennes. Je souhaite avoir une formation en teinture pour quitter ce travail.

Localisation

Bamako, Ségou, Sikasso et Mopti. Ces villes sont retenues car elles remplissent un ou plusieurs de ces critères : attrait économique et touristique, proximité frontalière, sites aurifères avec une prévalence d’enfants exposés et/ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle à des fins commerciales

 

 

 

Durée

Janvier 2017-Décembre 2019

 

Contexte

La population malienne se caractérise par son extrême jeunesse : les moins de 18 ans représentent plus de la moitié (53,0%) des 15.84 millions d’habitants. Les moins de 15 ans représentent à eux seuls 46,6% de la population.[1]

 

Le Mali n’est malheureusement pas épargné par l’exploitation sexuelle de ses enfants et nombre d’entre eux font partie des millions exploités dans le monde chaque année. Une étude quantitative et qualitative que nous avons réalisée en mars 2013, montre que 28,3% soit 417 enfants sur 1472 enfants de l’échantillon ont été victimes de prostitution et de traite à des fins sexuelles. Plus de 90% de ces victimes sont des filles. Des filles très souvent âgées entre 12 et 15 ans sont abusées sexuellement en échange d’une protection, d’un bien matériel, ou tout simplement d’argent : un billet de 1.000 CFA soit 1.45€ est le prix d’un abus sexuel.

 

Les enfants victimes d’exploitation sexuelle sont des enfants qui pour la plupart ont subi des maltraitances physiques et psychologiques dont des abus sexuels en famille, des enfants issus de familles disloquées, recomposées ou en rupture totale avec la famille. D’autres proviennent de familles vivant dans des situations économiques de précarité. Pour beaucoup, ce sont des enfants qui se retrouvent en situation de rue pour différentes raisons, alors que d’autres y sont contraints pour subvenir aux besoins primaires de la famille.

Les conséquences de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales sont multiples. Un enfant abusé est un enfant violé dans sa chair et dans son âme, et l’exploitation sexuelle perturbe considérablement le développement psychologique, physique et social de l’enfant victime. Une approche pluridisciplinaire de prise en charge (psychologique, sanitaire et sociale) de ces enfants victimes est ainsi impérative pour permettre à l’enfant victime de se construire, reconstruire ses repères et qu’il soit à nouveau confiant envers lui, la société, la vie et surtout sa propre vie.

 

Objectif du projet

Renforcer la protection (prévention, prise en charge psychosociale, réinsertion   et réhabilitation) des filles mineures à risques et ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle

 

Résultats escomptés

Les capacités des intervenants sociaux des structures partenaires du projet sont renforcées dans le domaine de l’’ESE.

Les enfants sont sensibilisés et ou renforcés dans leurs compétences de vie à l’autoprotection à l’ESE.

Les communautés du Mali sont sensibilisées au phénomène de l’ESEC au Mali.

L’environnement social et politique est favorable à la protection des enfants contre l’ESE.

Les enfants participent activement aux actions de lutte contre l’ESE.

Les filles mineures victimes d’ESEC bénéficient d’une prise en charge psychosociale en rue et dans les centres d’accueil.

Les filles mineures exposées ou victimes d’ESEC bénéficient de mesures d’accompagnement pour la réhabilitation et la réinsertion socioprofessionnelle.

 

Groupes cibles du projet

  • Adolescentes et jeunes filles en situation de rue à risque d’exploitation sexuelle et/ou victimes d’ESE
  • Filles victimes d’ESEC accueillies au Centre de Caritas à Bamako et du Bureau National Catholique pour l’enfance
  • Enfants et parents des Centres d’Ecoutes Communautaires
  • Enfants pairs éducateurs
  • Parlement des enfants
  • Enfants de l’Association pour la Promotion des Jeunes et Enfants Communicateurs
  • Intervenants sociaux des structures partenaires du projet
  • Police judiciaire
  • Communicateurs traditionnels et leaders communautaires
  • Professionnels des médias

  

Bénéficiaires directs

 

497 intervenants sociaux de la protection des enfants des structures partenaires formés pour renforcer leur capacité de prise en charge des enfants victimes d’exploitation sexuelle.

2632 filles sensibilisés et ou renforcés dans leurs compétences de vie à l’autoprotection à l’ESE.

6664  personnes sont sensibilisées au phénomène de l’ESE au Mali.

2100 enfants participent activement aux actions de lutte contre l’ESE.

238 filles mineures victimes d’ESE bénéficient d’une prise en charge psychosociale en rue et dans les centres d’accueil.

238 filles mineurs exposées ou victimes d’ESEC bénéficient de mesures d’accompagnement pour la réhabilitation et la réinsertion socioprofessionnelle.

106 filles mineures victimes d’ESE bénéficient d’une prise en charge psychothérapeutique et juridique.

30 professionnels des médias sont formés sur leur rôle et responsabilité dans la lutte contre l’ESE à Bamako.

  

Budget 

655 000 EUROS

 

Partenaires d’exécution du projet

Samu Social Mali : Le Samu social Mali vise à lutter contre l’exclusion sociale  des enfants  et jeunes de la rue, garçons et filles de 0 à 18 ans, et parfois au-delà de cet âge « légal », spécialement pour les jeunes filles/jeunes mères en rue, qui vivent et dorment dans les rues de Bamako. L’équipe apporte une assistance médicale, psychosociale et éducative à ces enfants et jeunes sur leur lieu de vie, grâce à une intervention d’urgence de nuit, complétée par un suivi en journée, à travers les prises en charge aussi bien médicales que psychosociales à l’appui notamment, d’orientations vers un réseau de structures partenaires spécialisées.

http://www.samusocialmali.org/

 

Le BNCE Mali (Bureau National Catholique pour l’enfance) : Organisation  engagée pour la promotion et la protection de la dignité et des droits de l’enfant au Mali qui est également membre et partenaire du réseau BICE (Bureau International Catholique de l’Enfance). Le BNCE accueillera les filles identifiées à risques et ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle dans leurs centres à Ségou, Sikasso et Mopti.

https://fr-fr.facebook.com/www.bncemali.ml/

 

CARITAS Mali : AET (Action Enfants de Tous) Bamako : Caritas Mali a lancé une initiative appelée Action Enfant de Tous (AET) qui coordonne les actions sociales et de développement du diocèse de Bamako. Le foyer des filles à Bamako accueillera les filles identifiées à risques et  ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle dans le district de Bamako.

https://www.caritasmali.org/

 

AV.ES : Avenir Enfance du Sahel : partenaire d’ECPAT Luxembourg depuis juin 2007, AV.ES est une ONG nationale œuvrant pour la protection et la promotion des droits de l’enfant au niveau national. Elle agira en amont principalement dans la  région de Mopti et Douanza (région pourvoyeuse de  très jeunes filles migrantes à partir de 9 ans !) auprès des leaders communautaires, des communautés et des familles.

 

Partenaire institutionnel

Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes de Luxembourg

 

 

[1] INSTAT : 4ème Recensement Général de la Population et de l’Habitat – Résultats définitifs, novembre 2011.