Our actions

OUR CURRENT PROJECTS:

OUR CLOSED PROJECTS:

Our focus

PARTNERSHIP AND PARTICIPATION

Ending Child Sexual Exploitation!

The ultimate goal of our association is to end the Sexual Exploitation of Children for Commercial Purposes (ESEC). It is for this purpose that we mobilize all our energies and resources.

At the structural level

ECPAT Luxembourg has three coordination offices on the ground. They are located in Mali, Nepal and Burkina Faso, the latter being managed in partnership with ECPAT France.

At the operational level

The partnership is based on a relationship of mutual and long-term trust. Each stakeholder maintains its autonomy but is committed to pooling their efforts and resources for the same goal.

We consider active participation in our projects, and in particular that of children, as a fundamental right, in the spirit of Article 12 of the CRC. [1] Their views are taken into account and they influence the decision-making processes that directly affect them.

PREVENTION AND PROTECTION

The legal framework should provide a deterrent and ensure the protection of children. But in practice, law enforcement often stumbles on ignorance, permissiveness, taboos or lack of will.

The legal framework should create a deterrent effect

Informing at-risk children and victims of their rights is therefore an essential step. But insufficient if it is not accompanied by actions with the actors in charge of their protection. Raising awareness, communicating, educating and training are therefore essential to our work.

Rehabilitation

Tortured childhood

The care and rehabilitation of child victims of sexual exploitation is a complex, difficult and painful process.

Shame, guilt, depression and despair keep them away from the provision of care, making them even more vulnerable to the stigma and betrayal of the adult world. Harassed by nightmares and insomnia, they develop similar reactions to victims of torture. Alcohol, drugs and rejection of society become their daily lives. Suicide, a possible way out.

Urgency and long-term, our focus

Act urgently, provide medical and psychological follow-up, provide shelter, legal assistance, and physical protection. Avoid the child being treated as a criminal, imprisoned, forcibly repatriated. Let it fall back into the hands of criminals.

Commit to the future, educate, train, reassure. Bringing families together, taking care of the child in his social, psychological and economic reintegration.

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

Illegal and clandestine, the economy of child sexual exploitation remains largely a mystery, making it all the more difficult to combat. Our academic studies in the field, combining qualitative and quantitative evaluation, gradually lift the veil on current practices.

Advocacy

The preventive and repressive arsenal has increased sharply in recent years. But there is still room for a rigorous and humane implementation of existing texts, as well as to develop new perspectives. Our advocacy is intended to speed up this process.

Training

Prevention, protection and rehabilitation within the ESEC are based on specific, complex and difficult knowledge and skills. ECPAT Luxembourg attaches great importance to training in each of the components of its action.

Help us to protect children!

Sous le Haut Patronage de Son Altesse Royale la Grande-Duchesse

Nos Actions

Nos projets

Partenariat et participation

 

STOP ESEC !

L'objectif final de notre association est de mettre fin à l'Exploitation Sexuelle des Enfants à des fins Commerciales (ESEC). C'est dans ce but que nous mobilisons toutes nos énergies et toutes nos ressources.

 

 

 

 

 

Au niveau opérationnel

Le partenariat repose sur une relation de confiance mutuelle et à long terme. Chaque intervenant conserve son autonomie mais s'engage à mettre en commun ses efforts et ses ressources pour le même objectif.

Nous considérons la participation active à nos projets, et en particulier celle des enfants, comme un droit fondamental, dans l’esprit de l'article 12 de la CDE.  [1] Leurs points de vue sont pris en considération et ils influencent les processus de décision qui les concernent de façon directe.

Au niveau structurel

ECPAT Luxembourg a trois bureaux de coordination sur le terrain. Ils se trouvent au Mali, au Népal et au Burkina Faso, ce dernier étant géré en partenariat avec ECPAT France

 

 

 

 

Prévention et protection

 

Le cadre légal devrait générer un effet dissuasif et assurer la protection des enfants. Mais dans la pratique, l'application des lois butte souvent sur l'ignorance, la permissivité, les tabous ou l'absence de volonté.

 

# Le cadre légal devrait générer un effet dissuasif

 

Informer les enfants à risque et les victimes de leurs droits est donc une étape indispensable. Mais insuffisante si elle ne s’accompagne pas d’actions auprès des acteurs en charge de leur protection. Sensibiliser, communiquer, éduquer et former sont donc des axes indispensables à notre travail.

 

Réhabilitation

Enfance torturée

Les soins et la réhabilitation des enfants victimes d’exploitation sexuelle est un processus complexe, difficile et douloureux.

Honte, culpabilité, dépression et désespoir les éloignent de l’offre de soins, les rendant encore plus vulnérables à la stigmatisation et au sentiment de trahison du monde adulte. Harcelés par les cauchemars et les insomnies, ils développent des réactions similaires aux victimes de torture. Alcool, drogue et rejet de la société deviennent leur quotidien. Le suicide, une porte de sortie envisageable.

 

 

Urgence et long terme, nos axes de travail.

Agir dans l’urgence, assurer un suivi médical et psychologique, fournir un abri, une assistance juridique, une protection physique. Éviter que l’enfant ne soit traité comme un criminel, emprisonné, rapatrié de force. Qu’il ne retombe dans les mains des criminels.

S’engager sur l’avenir, éduquer, former, rassurer. Réunir les familles, prendre soin de l’enfant dans sa réinsertion sociale, psychique et économique.

 

 

Recherche et développement

Etudes

Illégale et clandestine, l’économie de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants reste en grande partie un mystère, la rendant d’autant plus difficile à combattre. Nos études académiques sur le terrain, combinant évaluation qualitative et quantitative, lèvent progressivement le voile sur les pratiques en vigueur.


Plaidoyer

L’arsenal préventif et répressif a fortement progressé ces dernières années. Mais il reste de la marge pour aboutir à une implémentation rigoureuse et humaine des textes existants, ainsi que pour développer de nouvelles perspectives. Notre plaidoyer entend accélérer ce processus.


Formation

La prévention, la protection et la réhabilitation dans le cadre de l'ESEC reposent sur des connaissances et des compétences spécifiques, complexes et difficiles. ECPAT Luxembourg accorde une importance capitale à la formation dans chacune des composantes de son action.




Références

Q&A ESEC

En quoi consiste l'ESEC?

L'exploitation et l'abus, quelle différence?

Qui exploite sexuellement les enfants?

VOIR notre Q&A

Aidez-nous

Suivez nous

         


Newsletter