For a world without child sexual exploitation

OUR MISSION

ECPAT Luxembourg’s mission is to fight by all legal means against the commercial sexual exploitation of children in Luxembourg and the countries where it operates, as well as to raise public awareness and inform public opinion about the rights of the child in this area. It will facilitate the identification and implementation of programmes for vulnerable children and/or victims of commercial sexual exploitation and their families. These programmes will include one or more of these areas: prevention, rehabilitation and reintegration of children.

OUR VALUES

Partnership

The partnership is based on a relationship of mutual and long-term trust. Each stakeholder maintains its autonomy but is committed to pooling their efforts and resources for the same goal.

Participation

We consider active participation in our projects, and in particular that of children, as a fundamental right, in the spirit of Article 12 of the International Convention on the Rights of the Child. Their views are taken into account and they influence the decision-making processes that directly affect them.

Neutrality

We work with our beneficiaries without any ethnic, political, religious or economic discrimination. Our ambition is to meet proven needs as efficiently and efficiently as possible.

Independence

We are not subject to any obedience, whether political, religious or economic. Our intervention decisions are guided only by our vision and mission, as defined in our social purpose.

We are also independent of any other member of our network.

OUR HISTORY

THE ECPAT NETWORK

Origins

ECPAT was established in 1990 as a one-off, regional campaign to combat commercial sexual exploitation of children. EcPAT (End Child Pornography and Trafficking of Children for Sexual Purposes) began in Stockholm in 1996 as an international network, at the first World Congress to Fight ESEC. This Congress, held in the presence of Her Royal Highness The Grand Duchess of Luxembourg and the Queen of Sweden, gives rise to an Agenda for Action which advocates a package of measures to combat this scourge.

Now

Today, the international ECPAT network has 106 members in 97 countries,including our neighbours: Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands. It is a global reference on issues of combating sexual exploitation and child trafficking.

img-about

SOME DEFINITIONS

Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) ''1''

“The ECSE is defined as the sexual abuse committed by an adult on a child in exchange for in-kind or cash compensation paid to the child or to one or more third parties in a process in which the child is treated as a sexual object and as a commercial object”

Child prostitution ''2''

“Child prostitution refers to the use of a child for sexual activity for a fee or any other form of benefit”

Child pornography ''3''

“Involves any representation, by any means, of a child engaging in explicit, real or simulated sexual activities, or any representation of a child’s sexual organs, for primarily sexual purposes.”

Trafficking in children for sexual purposes ''4''

“Denotes the recruitment, transport, transfer, accommodation or reception of a child for exploitation.”

Sexual exploitation of children in the context of travel and tourism ''5''

“The commercial sexual exploitation of children by people who travel from one place to another and have sex with minors. Often they travel from a richer country to a less developed destination, but tourists who have sex with children can also be travelers in their own country or region “

Child ''6''

“Any human being under the age of 18, unless the majority is reached earlier, under the law applicable to him.”

References

[1] According to the Declaration drawn up at the First World Congress Against Child Sexual Exploitation held in Stockholm in 1996

[2] Optional protocol to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography. Article 2.

[3] The Optional Protocol to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography

[4] Additional protocol to the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime to Prevent, Repress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, especially Women and Children

[5] While definitions of child prostitution, child trafficking for sexual purposes and child pornography are specified in international legal arrangements, there is no legal definition of child sex tourism. The proposed definition is that of ECPAT International

Help us to protect children!

A propos de nous

NOTRE VOCATION

Mettre fin à l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales sous toutes ses formes

NOTRE MISSION

ECPAT Luxembourg a pour mission, au Luxembourg et dans les pays où elle intervient, de lutter par tous les moyens légaux contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales ainsi que de sensibiliser et informer l’opinion publique sur les Droits de l’Enfant en la matière. Elle facilitera l’identification et la mise en œuvre de programmes en faveur des enfants vulnérables et/ou victimes d’exploitation sexuelle à des fins commerciales et de leurs familles. Ces programmes comporteront un ou plusieurs de ces axes : la prévention, la réhabilitation et la réinsertion des enfants.

NOS VALEURS

Le partenariat

Le partenariat repose sur une relation de confiance mutuelle et à long terme. Chaque intervenant conserve son autonomie mais s’engage à mettre en commun ses efforts et ses ressources pour le même objectif.

Le participation

Nous considérons la participation active à nos projets, et en particulier celle des enfants, comme un droit fondamental, dans l’esprit de l’article 12 de la Convention internationale relative aux Droits de l’Enfant. Leurs points de vue sont pris en considération et ils influencent les processus de décision qui les concernent de façon directe.

La neutralité

Nous intervenons auprès de nos bénéficiaires sans aucune discrimination ethnique, politique, religieuse ou économique. Notre ambition est de répondre à des besoins avérés avec le plus d’efficacité et d’efficience possible.

L'indépendance

Nous ne sommes soumis à aucune obédience, qu’elle soit d’ordre politique, religieuse ou économique. Nos décisions d’intervention ne sont guidées que par notre vision et notre mission, telles que définies dans notre objet social.

Nous sommes également indépendants de tout autre membre de notre réseau.

NOTRE HISTOIRE

LE RESEAU ECPAT

Les origines

ECPAT voit le jour en 1990 sous forme d’une campagne ponctuelle et régionale de lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales. C’est à Stockholm, en 1996, que débute ECPAT (End Child Prostitution, Child Pornography and Trafficking of Children for Sexual Purposes) sous forme de réseau international, à l’occasion du premier Congrès Mondial de lutte contre l’ESEC. Ce Congrès, tenu en la présence de Son Altesse Royale La Grande-Duchesse du Luxembourg et de la reine de Suède, donne lieu à un Agenda pour l’Action qui prône un ensemble de mesures pour lutter contre ce fléau.

A présent

Aujourd’hui le réseau international ECPAT compte 106 membres répartis dans 97 pays, dont nos voisins : Allemagne, France, Belgique, Pays-Bas. Il est une référence mondiale sur les questions de lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle et la traite des enfants.

img-about

QUELQUES DEFINITIONS

L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales (ESEC) [1]

 » L’ESEC se définit comme l’abus sexuel commis par un adulte sur un enfant contre une rétribution en nature ou en espèces versée à l’enfant ou à une ou plusieurs tierces personnes dans le cadre d’un processus dans lequel  l’enfant est traité comme un objet sexuel et comme un objet commercial « 

La prostitution des enfants [2]

 » Par prostitution des enfants on entend le fait d’utiliser un enfant aux fins d’activités sexuelles contre rémunération ou toute autre forme d’avantage « 

La pornographie mettant en scène des enfants [3]

 » Implique toute représentation, par quelque moyen que ce soit, d’un enfant s’adonnant à des activités sexuelles explicites, réelles ou simulées, ou toute représentation des organes sexuels d’un enfant, à des fins principalement sexuelles. « 

La traite des enfants à des fins sexuelles [4]

 » Désigne le recrutement, le transport, le transfert, l’hébergement ou l’accueil d’un enfant aux fins d’exploitation. « 

Exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans le cadre du voyage et du tourisme [5]

 » L’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants à des fins commerciales par des gens qui voyagent d’un endroit à l’autre et y ont des rapports sexuels avec des mineurs. Souvent, ils voyagent d’un pays plus riche vers une destination moins développée, mais les touristes qui ont des relations sexuelles avec des enfants peuvent également être des voyageurs dans leur propre pays ou région « 

Enfant [6]

 » Tout être humain âgé de moins de 18 ans, sauf si la majorité est atteinte plus tôt, en vertu de la législation qui lui est applicable. « 

Références

[1]Selon la Déclaration élaborée lors du Premier Congrès Mondial contre l’Exploitation Sexuelle des Enfants qui a eu lieu à Stockholm en 1996

[2]Protocole facultatif à la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, concernant la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants. Article 2.

[3]Le Protocole facultatif à la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, concernant la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants

[4]Protocole additionnel à la Convention des Nations Unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée visant à prévenir, réprimer et punir la traite des personnes, en particulier des femmes et des enfants

[5]Alors que les définitions de la prostitution enfantine, la traite des enfants à des fins sexuelles et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants sont précisées dans des dispositifs légaux au niveau international, il n’existe aucune définition légale du tourisme sexuel impliquant des enfants. La définition proposée est celle d’ECPAT International

Aidez-nous à protéger les enfants !